May 27 – June 2, 2019

facebook twitter youtube instagram

Latest News Home media Latest News

Image for News Article

Final Field announced for the 2014 Memorial Tournament presented by Nationwide Insurance

Posted on Friday, May 23, 2014

Dublin, Ohio – At 6:00 p.m. EDT Tournament Officials announced the final playing field for the 2014 Memorial Tournament presented by Nationwide Insurance. Jason Day and 2011 Memorial winner Steve Stricker, two popular players who competed last fall in The Presidents Cup 2013 at Muirfield Village Golf Club, are the latest to commit to the 39th edition of the prestigious invitational Jack Nicklaus started in 1976.

Adam Scott, the No. 1 player in the world, heads a field of 120 players. He will be joined by six other players, in order, from the top-10 in the Official World Golf Ranking: Matt Kuchar (defending winner), Bubba Watson (reigning Masters Champion), Day, Justin Rose (2010 Memorial winner and reigning U.S. Open champion), Jordan Spieth and Rory McIlroy. The 2014 field also boasts seven of the current top-10 on the FedExCup points list and seven of the current top-10 on the PGA TOUR money list.

In addition to Kuchar and Rose, six past winners of the Memorial Tournament are returning to Muirfield Village Golf Club: K.J. Choi, Ernie Els, Jim Furyk, Carl Pettersson, Vijay Singh and Steve Stricker.

An Australian native who now lives in Columbus, Day, 26, will be making his sixth Memorial Tournament start. His career earnings at the Memorial total $91,731, and his best finish came in 2009 when he tied for 27th. His scoring average at Muirfield Village Golf Club is 73.13 after he ended the 2013 Tournament with a share of 41st place. Day has made a habit of excelling on golf’s biggest stages. Since 2010 he has posted six top -10 finishes in major championships, with three runner-up outings at the 2011 Masters Tournament and 2011 and 2013 U.S. Open Championships. The 26-year-old Australian native has played in four events during the current 2013-2014 season, recording two top-10s, including his second career PGA TOUR victory at the World Golf Championships-Accenture Match Play Championship to go with a second-place effort at the Farmers Insurance Open.

Stricker, 47, of Madison, Wis., is ranked 16th in the world despite a limited schedule in the 2013-14 season. His best finish in five starts is a tie for 13th place at THE PLAYERS. He has 12 PGA TOUR titles, with his last coming in 2012 at the Hyundai Tournament of Champions. Stricker ranks 152nd on the FedExCup points list and 124th in earnings. In 13 appearances at the Memorial, Stricker has earned $1,378,336, with his only top-10 his victory in 2011 when he fired four rounds in the 60s for a 16-under 272 total. His career scoring average at Muirfield Village is 71.63.

The list of 120 players, plus 10 alternates, is below. 

Thomas Aiken 
Robert Allenby 
Kiradech Aphibarnrat 
Stuart Appleby 
Woody Austin 
Jason Bohn 
Steven Bowditch 
Keegan Bradley 
Scott Brown 
Paul Casey 
Roberto Castro 
Greg Chalmers 
Kevin Chappell 
K.J. Choi 
Stewart Cink 
Tim Clark 
Nicolas Colsaerts 
Erik Compton 
Ben Curtis 
Brian Davis 
Jason Day 
Brendon de Jonge 
Graham DeLaet 
Luke Donald 
Jason Dufner 
Ken Duke 
Ernie Els 
Derek Ernst 
Matt Every 
Gonzalo Fdez-Castano
Martin Flores 
Rickie Fowler 
Jim Furyk 
Robert Garrigus 
Lucas Glover 
Branden Grace 
Luke Guthrie 
Bill Haas 
Chesson Hadley 
Brian Harman 
David Hearn 
Russell Henley 
Justin Hicks 
Charley Hoffman 
Morgan Hoffmann 
J.B. Holmes 
Billy Horschel 
Charles Howell III 
John Huh 
Billy Hurley III 
Trevor Immelman 
Ryo Ishikawa 
Freddie Jacobson 
Dustin Johnson 
Matt Jones 
Hyung-Sung Kim 
Michael Kim 
Chris Kirk 
Russell Knox 
Matt Kuchar

Martin Laird 
Scott Langley 
Richard H.Lee 
Marc Leishman 
Justin Leonard 
David Lingmerth 
Davis Love III 
Justin Lower 
Will MacKenzie 
Hunter Mahan 
Ben Martin 
Hideki Matsuyama 
William McGirt 
Rory McIlroy 
George McNeill 
Phil Mickelson 
Bryce Molder 
Ryan Moore 
Kevin Na 
Seung-Yul Noh 
Sean O'Hair 
Thorbjorn Olesen 
Carlos Ortiz 
Jeff Overton 
Pat Perez 
Carl Pettersson 
D.A. Points 
Michael Putnam 
Patrick Reed 
Justin Rose
Rory Sabbatini 
Charl Schwartzel 

Adam Scott 
Vijay Singh 
Jordan Spieth 
Kevin Stadler 
Scott Stallings 
Kyle Stanley 
Brendan Steele 
Robert Streb 
Kevin Streelman 
Steve Stricker 
Chris Stroud 
Brian Stuard 
Daniel Summerhays 
Andrew Svoboda 
Josh Teater 
Justin Thomas 
Michael Thompson 
Nicholas Thompson 
Brendon Todd 
Cameron Tringale 
Bo Van Pelt 
Camilo Villegas 
Nick Watney 
Bubba Watson 
Mike Weir 
Mark Wilson 
Gary Woodland 
Y.E. Yang

120 Players in the
Kisner, Kevin 
Garnett, Brice 
Baddeley, Aaron 
Driscoll, James 
Hahn, James 
Ogilvy, Geoff 
Potter, Jr., Ted 
Lee, Danny 
Henry, J.J. 
Barnes, Ricky


« Back to 2014 News Download Article (PDF)