June 1 – June 7, 2020

facebook twitter youtube instagram

Honorees Home the memorial Honorees

1999 : Ben Hogan

1999 Memorial Tournament Honoree

Image Credit: http://www.augusta.com

If golf historians were asked to make a list of the three greatest players of all time, the names most mentioned would surely be Jack Nicklaus, Bob Jones, and Ben Hogan. Hogan won 63 times on the PGA Tour, second only to Sam Snead and Nicklaus, and captured nine major championships. He won the PGA Championship twice, British Open once, the Masters twice, and the U.S. Open four times.  Significantly, Hogan's record was compiled almost entirely in an incredible nine-year run from 1946 to 1953 that came to be known as the “Age of Hogan.”

But, beyond his victories, it was the way in which Hogan gave every fiber of his being to making himself the supreme golfer that is his true legacy.  His unrelentingly dedicated, confoundingly complicated and utterly self-sufficient persona made Hogan the most distinctive golfer who ever lived, giving him a singular place in the game’s history.