Skip Menu

An Official PGA TOUR Event


Leo Diegel & Horton Smith image

Leo Diegel & Horton Smith

Leo Diegel

Known as one of the great shot-makers, Leo Diegel, between 1920 and 1934, won 30 times including two PGA Championships. Born in Detroit in 1899, Diegel placed in the top four in seven U.S. Opens and British Opens and became one of the most popular players of his era. His greatest year was 1925 when he won five times. It was Diegel in winning the 1928 PGA Championship who ended Walter Hagen’s amazing streak of 22 straight match-play wins. He repeated as PGA champion in 1929 and was inducted into the World Golf Hall of Fame in 2003.

Horton Smith

In a Hall of Fame career Horton Smith won 32 events and finished second 37 times, including a remarkable performance in1929 when, as a 21-year-old, he captured eight of 22 events as well as finishing second on six occasions. Born in Springfield Missouri, in 1908, Smith was referred to as the finest putter and chipper of his era. Smith won the first Masters Tournament in 1934 and added another green jacket in 1936. Smith was also the last player to defeat Bobby Jones in competition before he retired. Elected President of the PGA of America, Smith was selected for five Ryder Cup teams and was never beaten. Smith was inducted into the World Golf Hall of Fame in 1990.

Presenting Sponsor

Workday logo

Official Tournament Partners

City of Dublin
Jobs Ohio
Scotts Miracle-Gro
Back to Top